Meet the idiot

Meet Idiot David Learn. Idiot David Learn lives in Canada and recently spent $2,946.44 Canadian to take a companion to a posh resort hotel in Montreal, beginning tomorrow and continuing through Monday.

Idiot David Learn does not know his own email address, so he gave the resort hotel my email address instead. The hotel accordingly sent me an email to confirm the reservation. Once I was assured there was no fraud afoot, it was all I could do to keep from going online and canceling his reservation.

(Believe me, the thought of the receptionist telling Idiot David Learn, “I’m sorry, that reservation was canceled and the room is now booked. We can put you up at the Holiday Inn downtown, though” was a powerful incentive to have some mean fun.)

I contacted the company to let them know of the error so they could stop compromising their guest’s information. An hour later, they sent me Idiot David Learn’s membership number and PIN so I could download an app to use while he stays at their hotel. Shortly after that they sent me an email to let me know that Idiot David Learn had updated his profile with a new phone number.
I think these two deserve each other.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in Stories and vignettes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

