Hobby Lobby v. Obamacare

Let us accept that this is an issue of religious freedom.

If I am a Jehovah's Witness, does this mean my employees should not be able to use their health insurance to pay for blood transfusions?

If am a Scientologist, should they be barred from using their insurance for mental health services?

Suppose I am Jewish and keep kosher. If an employee gets heart disease from eating bacon, does that mean they are on the hook for their own surgery?

If I am an atheist, and a worker is hit by a car on the way to church, then perhaps her policy should not cover her hospital stay.

If I work for a Christian Scientist, does this mean I simply should not get health insurance, since my employer believers that all illness is a lie of the mind?

Or if my employer is a Pentecostal, should I just claim a healing?

If this is truly an issue of protecting religious freedoms, let us protect everyone's religious freedoms. If it is not, then let us instead focus on the responsibility employers have to their employees, to provide them a living wage and to see that they receive the health insurance that they need, as required by the law, especially as it is the labor of these workers that generates the money their employers collect.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in politics, religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment