My church is holding a men’s retreat

I don’t know why, but I always find the notion of men’s church retreats to be unattractive.

Maybe it’s the expectation that I suddenly should feel emotional intimacy with people whom I’m not particularly close to. I’ve attended a few men’s retreats, and never got much out of them. They remind me a lot of revival services, and not in a good way.

What about a retreat that stresses things like: Literary discussion! Writing workshops with feedback! Social justice! Feminism!
·
And you know, my best friends are almost all women. Why are these things always segregated according to one’s sex?
·
In my personal experience, men’s retreats involve oversharing, some good-natured buffoonery, and the cost of admission.

To really recharge, all I need is a few hours of reading a book I like, by myself; or hanging out with a few close friends.

And I’d feel closer to other guys at my church if they, you know, returned calls and responded to invites to hang out. But that’s just me.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment