Mockery, mockery, mockery

So I’ve thought about this for a while, and I think I’ve got a solution.

My brother has this thing he does, that every time I say a word he finds unusual, he repeats it at me three times. He’s done this for more than 40 years. It’s a childish form of bullying and mockery he still gets a kick out of.

I mentioned it to him the weekend of our mother’s funeral, and although he apologized for it a couple hours later. he’s done it a couple times since. I wish he’d stop, but he’s not going to change. He think it’s the funnest thing in the world.
This started out when we were kids. He was the youngest of four brothers and often felt overshadowed by the three of us. Things like this were how he balanced the scales of power. I get it, and don’t hold that against him.

But we’re not kids anymore, and it’s time to grow up. He does this just to annoy, and he’s persisted despite being asked to stop.

So I’m going to take away some of the oxygen and enforce a boundary. I’m not going to make a big scene when this happens; in fact, I don’t expect to say anything at all. But I’m done ignoring it.

Instead, here’s the deal: Each time he does it, the conversation is over. If he does it in person, I turn and walk away. He does it on the phone, I tell him I have to go, and hang up. He does it on Facebook, I delete his comment.

Seems like a proportionate response to the offense. Wish I’d thought of it years ago.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment