A friend for the sake of peace

I met Anushka Pedris in 1987 at an afs camp in the North Island of New Zealand.

Born amid the fires of World War I, afs had its genesis among workers of the Ambulance Field Service who dreamed that cultural exchange among the world’s students could foster connection and understanding among the nations and make was less likely.

I don’t know what metrics we can use to measure such things, but I consider knowing Anushka one of the highlights of my time in New Zealand. In the 36 years since then, the US has not once been at war with Sri Lanka.

That’s got to count for something.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment