Show me the one who lives without a mask

Say what you will, the truth is that we’re a people of closets and closed doors.

By and large, I don’t judge people who are being open and vulnerable before me. I find that understanding what makes someone tick makes it impossible for me to sit in judgment on who they are, or even what they do, especially when I see how they’ve suffered over the workings of their inner gears. I might not approve of their actions, but either I understand why they’re making the choices that they are, or at least I feel the common humanity between us.

But the flip side? I expect judgment from others, so I hesitate to be open and honest with them.

Thanks, Elizabeth.

I loved you, and I will do to the day I die; but I don’t think I really understood at the time just how much and how deeply your rejection hurt.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment