The night is a dark time to be awake

Middle Daughter came downstairs an hour ago, disturbed by thoughts of the children murdered recently by ISIS. She finds belief to be beyond her right now, with no objective evidence; and therefore finds the thought of Resurrection too empty to be comforting, and the thought of nonexistence after death to be too chilling.

She sat on my lap, all 12 years of her, and cried a bit. I did my best to comfort her in her moment of existential dread and uncertainty. I hugged her, and called her Two-Sheds, and surprised her by saying that Christianity actually talks a lot more about this life than about the next, and that God cares about our suffering now and not just in the afterlife.

Oh, my child. There are times I find your doubts and your fears so familiar. I only hope that you can find comfort in knowing that you’re walking a path I’ve been on for years.

In the meantime, take comfort in knowing that someone loves you.

About maradanto

La Maradanto komencis sian dumvivan ŝaton de vojaĝado kun la hordoj da Gengiso Kano, vojaĝante sur Azio. En la postaj jaroj, li vojaĝis per la Hindenbergo, la Titaniko, kaj Interŝtata Ĉefvojo 78 en orienta Pensilvanio.
This entry was posted in religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment